Have You Been Arrested for DUI / DWI?

Get The Help You Need!

CALL US! 800-523-7450

Florida DUI Attorney

Fill Out The Form or Call Us Today! 800-523-7450

DUI Defense Consultation!

Your First Step Starts Here!

Get the HELP You Need to Make the Best Decision.

Lets Get Started By Filling Out The Form Belov:

We Look Forward To Servicing You.

Connect With Your Local DUI / DWI Attorney Today!

Trusted By Thousands of Customers Since 2012!

Florida DUI Attorney

Driving while intoxicated (DUI) is a violation that can carry severe penalties in any state. In Florida this is particularly true. Florida law states that you have only 10 days to request to defend yourself in court. It is vital that you consult with a Florida DUI attorney as soon as possible after being arrested.

There will be two separate court proceedings against you. One will be in a criminal court and the other will determine the action taken against your driver's license.

You only need a blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent to be legally considered intoxicated. If you refuse to take a breath test or submit a blood or urine sample, this may be used as evidence. This is because Florida law states that driving on a Florida road means that you give consent to take such tests. When you have been arrested for DUI, you need to contact a Florida DUI attorney. He or she will advise you as to what actions you should take or not take based on the circumstances of your arrest.

For the first DUI offense, a conviction could result in the following:

    A fine of at least $250, up to $1000
    Up to six months in jail
    Impoundment of your vehicle
    A minimum of 180 day license revocation
    A misdemeanor conviction on your record

Florida considers a second DUI offense to be one that occurs within five years of the first offense. It can carry these penalties:

    A fine of at least $500, up to $2000
    Up to nine months in jail with 10 days mandatory
    Impoundment of your vehicle
    A minimum of five years loss of driver's license
    A misdemeanor conviction on your record

A third conviction within a 10 year period could result in the following penalties:

    A fine of between $1000 and $2500
    At least 30 days in jail
    Impoundment of your vehicle
    Loss of your driver's license for 10 years
    A felony conviction on your record

Convictions after the third can carry even more severe penalties.

Even a first DUI conviction could cause you to lose your job due to having no vehicle or license or being in jail. Your finances could be ruined due to the fines and possible increase in insurance premiums. An experienced Florida DUI attorney may be able to avoid some of these penalties by getting the charges dropped or reduced. It is imperative that you consult with a Florida DUI attorney as soon as possible after an arrest for DUI.