Have You Been Arrested for DUI / DWI?

Get The Help You Need!

CALL US! 800-523-7450

Texas DUI Attorney

Fill Out The Form or Call Us Today! 800-523-7450

DUI Defense Consultation!

Your First Step Starts Here!

Get the HELP You Need to Make the Best Decision.

Lets Get Started By Filling Out The Form Belov:

We Look Forward To Servicing You.

Connect With Your Local DUI / DWI Attorney Today!

Trusted By Thousands of Customers Since 2012!

Texas DUI Attorney

In Texas, a DUI or DWI is short for driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated and is considered to be a serious crime under the state law. The penalties range from jail time and license suspension to a prison sentence and hefty fines. Luckily, for those facing charges, a Texas DUI attorney can help you understand your options.

The legal process can be somewhat intimidating and having someone by your side to help you along the way can prove to be beneficial in a number of ways. While a Texas DUI attorney will answer any questions or concerns you have about DUI charges in Texas as well as other related information, it doesn’t hurt to prepare yourself ahead of time with the laws surrounding Texas DUI charges.

Texas DUI Penalties

Before we delve into the penalties associated with Texas DUI convictions, it is important that you are aware of the legal limit for intoxication. In Texas, the legal limit is set at .08 BAC – blood alcohol concentration.

The general Texas DUI laws are as follows:

• First DUI Offense – As much as a $2,000 fine; 72 hours minimum in jail up to as many as 180 days; and a suspension of your driver’s license ranging from three months to one year.

• Second DUI Offense – As much as a $4,000 fine; 30 days minimum behind bars to as much as 1 year in jail; and a suspension of your driver’s license of 180 days minimum up to two years.

• Third DUI Offense – As much as a $10,000 fine; anywhere from two to 10 years in prison; and a driver’s license suspension between 180 days and two years.

In some instances, individuals may face annual fees in order to keep their driver’s license active.

Interlock Ignition Device

For those that break the rules for a second and third time, an interlock ignition device may be placed on your primary vehicle. This is a breathalyzer device in which keeps the vehicle from starting unless the driver is able to pass a BAC test successfully. In other words, the driver will have to blow into the breathalyzer tester. If the driver’s BAC is within the set range, the vehicle will start. If it is not, then the vehicle will not turn over.

A Texas DUI attorney can help you if you’ve received a DUI. Being arrested under the suspicion of drunk driving or even receiving a DUI charge does not been that you are guilty of the said charge. While it may be true that you were drinking and driving, many individuals were not and the breathalyzer test that was taken on the scene produced inaccurate results. Regardless of the case, if you have been arrested and charged with a DUI, consult with a DUI attorney as soon as possible to explore all of the options available to you.